2) Visa loves me – or Tow Guys Are Not Poets—or The Day they towed My Honda Civic. Ralph Aloysius Miller.

2) Visa loves me – or Tow Guys Are Not Poets—or The Day they towed My Honda Civic.  Ralph Aloysius Miller.

This is a photograph of a gent I spied on while traveling on the Washington, D.C., subway train from Bethesda Maryland USA t0 Rockville Maryland USA. Who knows? Maybe five, maybe six, maybe eight miles.
I was traveling from Bethesda to Rockville because my car had just been towed. I had to get it back or I would die.
Earlier, I went off to work, 7: 46 a.m. or so. I went to Caribou Coffee in Bethesda, because Caribou is the only coffee shop in the world who gives coffee refills for free.
I labored: I wrote poetry; I finished my eighth novel, a tribute to Jack Kerouac; I considered my theories concerning the beginning of the universe, things like that.
When I lifted my face from the computer screen, I realized that it was 10 to 9. The green parking sign under which I parked said it was okay to park til 9, after that it was metered parking.
I was out of Caribou by 6 of. Alas, I faced what appeared to be one of the many mysteries of the universe: My car had disappeared.
Being a quick thinker, I quickly thought: “Maybe I have been towed. I looked at the green parking sign. Yes, it was okay to park until 9. However I noticed a second sign above the green one. It was a red sign and read: “No standing 6:30 to 9.”
I made the best of the whole agonizing affair. I explored parts of the country I had never seen before. I met people I had never seen. I made a photo-essay out of the whole debacle.
Like I said: This is a picture of a gent I spied while traveling on the Washington, D.C., subway train, from Bethesda Maryland USA t0 Rockville Maryland USA.
I took five pictures of him, and present one of them to you here.
I photographed Ralph my iPhone, since I lost my go-to camera yesterday, after making a video of myself floating an aluminum tin foil pie pan from my chest to the floor, in a Wei Wei-related project I am hard at work on.
I paid with my Visa Card, I was contributing to our society, I was giving the economy a much-needed jolt. I was making myself poor. I was making Visa rich.

Leave a Reply

