I’m not gonna lie, I cried about two thirds of the way through this

Media Blended

I know, I know, I’m late to the game. Keep on Keepin’ On played at The International Documentary Film Festival (IDFA) late last year (it won the IDFA Melkweg Music Documentary Audience Award) and it’s even been on TV since, but I first saw it at Best of IDFA recently and goddayum if it didn’t have me crying like a little bitch. And it’s a feel good documentary!! But I had just sat through two depressing documentaries that bummed me the hell out, so by the time this one kicked in, I was a goner. Clark Terry was such a great artist and all-round stand up dude, and his relationship with his loved ones, from his wife to the students he mentored to the legendary Quincy Jones (“are your lips greasy?”) was just so touching. I loved taking a peek into his world for two hours of my life. Humbled is the world.

View original post

Leave a Reply

