When Extra Extra Large Doesn’t Measure Up (Film Thoughts: Magic Mike XXL)

Luha Thoughts

B9AtDiqIcAEo5p7There’s this guy I follow on Instagram who has the perfect face, the perfect body, but he is straight. And then one evening I find myself in the club where he is bartending, and he seems to have the perfect personality: jovial, funny, engaging. But I find something is off: he seems to be pandering, like he is trying too hard to be liked. He seems to be continually “on,” that the his overall effect to me seems stilted, and scripted. And then I find myself turned off – his fantasy was better than his (admittedly good) reality. That’s how I feel about “Magic Mike XXL.”  The first movie was hugely successful, and I liked it enough for me to look forward to the sequel. And the movie delivers, in the sense that it is a more character-driven piece than the first one, as if there was a conscious effort…

View original post 178 more words

Leave a Reply

